Grrrreetings!

Proper greetings in the Wolof culture are very important. Often times one will spend several minutes with greetings and pleasantries before getting down to the purpose of their visit. Sometimes the whole visit will just be greetings. Even on Senegalese call-in radio shows the callers and hosts will exchange many greetings before getting on with the caller’s question or comment.

We have put here the four most common greetings you are most likely to encounter on a daily basis when visiting Wolof countries. We have included both Arabic and French as well as Wolof.

GREETING

RESPONSE

WHEN USED

salaam alaikum

malaikum salaam

greeting a group of people
or entering one’s house

nanga def

maangi fi

greeting an individual

ça va

ça va

greeting an individual in passing

ba beneen

ba beneen

upon leaving an individual

2 responses to “Grrrreetings!

  1. 陈先生,您好。仔细拜读了您的文章,受益良多。真的十分感谢!在此,我想特别请教于您的是,能否向我推荐这样一部词典:它在解释一个单词时,首先列出这个单词的本义,再解释它的衍生义。英语单词词义繁复。虽然很多词典对其进行了归类,仍常让我苦恼。以我的学习经验看,若是能先明了一个单词的本义,再辅以语感和常识,这个问题便轻松 的多。以mind为例,在LDOCE中,它的义项有43项之多。可如果我们先知道它的本义:the part of your brain that thinks and rebmemers;这些义项便很容易理解和使用,更无需专门去记忆。我想,您可能会推荐词源词典给我。我却觉得里面的信息太多了,我只需要知道单词现代使用意义上的本义便好了。在这方面,似乎初阶、中阶的词典的释义更本真一些;是因为它们释义简单的原因么?若真是这样,我倒要谋求一本低阶的词典了。除了上面这个最主要的需求,我当然还希望要有光碟。我不介意是不是学习型词典;老实说,我更喜欢所谓的非ESL学习词典。综合以上情况,不知道陈先生有什么建议和推荐呢?另外,为了阅读新闻期刊,我准备购进一部大部头。对于这类辞典,陈先生的评论向来言简意赅。所以,还想请教您,哪本辞典释义精准,光碟方便使用呢?当然,发音是必不可少的。还有,所谓的英国英语和美国英语,倒底有什么差别呢?以上,烦请陈先生和诸位学友多多指教。

Leave a Reply

